follow us on

Here’s Everything You Need To Know About the 56th Baeksang Arts Awards

This year’s ceremony will take place on Friday, June 5, with a lot of your favorite celebs and shows nominated!

This Friday, the 56th Baeksang Arts Awards will once again honor outstanding achievements in film and cinema in the South Korean entertainment industry. It has been touted as the “Oscars of Korea,” as it has been recognizing worthy actors, movies, and television shows since 1965. The awards ceremony was established by Chang Key-young, founder of the Hankook Ilbo, whose pen name had been “Baeksang.”

Where will it take place, and who’s hosting it?

This year’s ceremonies were supposed to have been held in May, as they usually take place then or in April, but due to the coronavirus pandemic has been postponed to June. The 56th Baeksang Arts Awards will be broadcast live from the Korea International Exhibition Center (KINTEX) in Ilsan on June 5 at 5 pm KST/4 pm PHT. It will take place at KINTEX in Ilsan without a live audience, and will be hosted, for the third consecutive year, by Shin Dong-yup, Bae Suzy, and Park Bo-gum.

Shin Dong-yup, Bae Suzy, and Park Bo-gum at the 54th Baeksang Arts Awards | Xportsnews

Who are the nominees?

This year’s nominees include the Oscar-winning Parasite, most of the cast of Itaewon Class, Kim Hee-ae of The World of the Married, Hyun Bin and Son Ye-jin of Crash Landing on You, and Netflix’s Kingdom as well as Time to Hunt, among others. In the past, Sky Castle and Mr. Sunshine were the ceremony’s major winners and nominees. Everyone’s favorite oppa, Hyun Bin, was also a nominee for his work on Memories of the Alhambra

Here is the complete list of nominees: 

Television Categories 

Best Drama

When the Camellia Blooms

Crash Landing on You

Stove League

Kingdom Season 2


Best Actor

Kang Ha-neul – When the Camellia Blooms

Namgoong Min – Stove League

Park Seo-joon – Itaewon Class

Joo Ji-hoon – Hyena

Hyun Bin – Crash Landing on You

Best Actress

Gong Hyo-jin – When the Camellia Blooms

Kim Hye-soo – Hyena

Kim Hee-ae – The World of the Married

Son Ye-jin – Crash Landing on You

IU – Hotel Del Luna

Best Supporting Actor

Kim Young-min – The World of the Married

Yang Kyung-won – Crash Landing on You

Oh Jung-se – When the Camellia Blooms

Yoo Jae-myung – Itaewon Class

Jeon Seok-ho – Hyena

Best Supporting Actress

Kwon Nara – Itaewon Class

Kim Sun-young – Crash Landing on You

Seo Ji-hye – Crash Landing on You

Son Dambi – When the Camellia Blooms

Yeom Hye-ran – When the Camellia Blooms

Best New Actor

Kim Kang-hoon – When the Camellia Blooms

Ahn Bo-hyun – Itaewon Class

Ahn Hyo-seop – Dr. Romantic 2

Ong Seong-wu – Moments of 18

Lee Jae-wook – Extraordinary You

Best New Actress

Kim Da-mi – Itaewon Class

Jeon Mi-do – Hospital Playlist

Jeon Yeo-bin – Melo Is My Nature

Jung Ji-so – The Cursed Han

So-hee – The World of the Married

Best Male Entertainer

Kim Sung-joo – Mr. Trot

Kim Heechul – Ask Us Anything Moon

Se-yoon – 2 Days & 1 Night Season 4

Yoo Jae-suk – How Do You Play?

Jang Sung-kyu – My Room, Row 1

Best Female Entertainer

Kim Min-kyung – Delicious Guys

Park Na-rae – Home Alone (I Live Alone)

Ahn Young-mi – Radio Star

Jang Do-yeon – Food Bless You

Hong Hyun-hee – Wife’s Taste

Best Variety Show

Where Is My Home?

How Do You Play?

Delicious Rendezvous

Mr. Trot

Iceland in Three Meals

Best Educational Show

Docu Insight – Archive Project Modern Korea

The Page Turners

Giant PengTV

PD Note – Prosecution Reporters

SBS Special – Yo Han Ssi Dol Yong Hyun


Film Categories

Best Film 


The Man Standing Next

House of Hummingbird


Kim Ji Young, Born 1982

Best Actor

Song Kang-ho – Parasite

Lee Byung-hun – The Man Standing Next

Lee Je-hoon – Time to Hunt

Jo Jung-suk – E.X.I.T

Han Suk-kyu – Forbidden Dream

Best Actress

Kim So-jin – Another Child

Kim Hee-ae – Moonlit Winter

Jeon Do-yeon – Birthday

Jung Yu-mi – Kim Ji Young, Born 1982

Jo Yeo-jung – Parasite

Best Supporting Actor

Kim Young-min – Lucky Chan Sil

Park Myung-hoon – Parasite

Won Hyun-joon – The Divine Move 2: The Wrathful

Lee Gwang-soo – Inseparable Bros

Lee Hee-joon – The Man Standing Next

Best Supporting Actress

Kim Guk-hee – Tune in for Love

Kim Mi-kyung – Kim Ji Young, Born 1982

Kim Sae-byeok – House of Hummingbird

Park So-dam – Parasite

Lee Jung-eun – Parasite

Best New Actor

Park Myung-oon – Parasite

Park Hae-soo – Time to Hunt

Park Hyung-sik – Juror 8

Ahn Ji-ho – A Boy and Sungreen

Jung Hae-in – Tune in for Love

Best New Actress

Kang Mal-geum – Lucky Chan Sil

Kim So-hye – Moonlit Winter

Kim Hye-joon – Another Child

Park Ji-hoo – House of Hummingbird

Jang Hye-jin – Parasite

Be sure to check back on Metro.Style for coverage on the 56th Baeksang Arts Awards!

‘Crash Landing on You,’ ‘Itaewon Class’ Lead Nominations at the 56th Baeksang Arts Awards


‘Crash Landing on You,’ ‘Itaewon Class’ Lead Nominations at the 56th Baeksang Arts Awards

The Nominees For Best New Actor And Actress On TV At The 56th Baeksang Arts Awards


The Nominees For Best New Actor And Actress On TV At The 56th Baeksang Arts Awards

Lead photos from @yejinhand @heeae_official @baeksang.official