follow us on

The Top 10 Ball Gowns That Wowed Us At The ABS-CBN Ball

Red carpet sightings at lavish events, like the ABS-CBN Ball, are never complete without a lady in a big ball gown. At the recent 70th Emmy Awards, Hollywood stars wore ball gowns that are show-stopping: Angela Sarafyan in Christian Siriano, Penélope Cruz in Chanel, and Joey King in Zac Posen.

Gowns with voluminous skirts are a go-to for formal events, and it's easy to see why; they easily make a stunning statement with the sheer grandeur of their silhouette. A ball gown has a bodice that hugs and defines the waist and a flared skirt that lends drama to the overall look. 

Associated with princesses and fairy tales, what's interesting is that, over the years, this style has had iterations that combine its sweet form with bold colors and edgy accents. Timeless in design and structure, it literally leaves a lot of space for incorporating an array of fashion trends, to give it a modern spin.

At the ABS-CBN Ball last Saturday, some stars preferred gowns that are light and easy to move around in. But, there are also those who couldn't resist the striking, attention-grabbing appeal a beautiful ball gown makes on the red carpet. Scroll down to see our favorites: 

  

READ: The Top 10 Slim n’ Slinky Gowns Of The ABS-CBN Ball

 

 

Kim Chiu in Michael Cinco

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

??????. @michael5inco #abscbnball2018 #abscbnballsharethelove ?

A post shared by Kim Chiu ?? (@chinitaprincess) on

 

 

Anne Curtis in Monique Lhuillier

 

 

Arci Muñoz in Michael Leyva

 

 

Jodi Sta. Maria in Mark Bumgarner

 

 

Janella Salvador in Michael Leyva

 

 

Kisses Delavin in Francis Libiran

 

 

Leila Alcasid in Vania Romoff

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

@leilalcasid ?? @studiovaniaromoff #abscbnball2018 #metroxabscbnball2018

A post shared by VANIA ROMOFF (@vaniaromoff) on

 

 

Lala Vinzon in Lara Atelier

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Promise, this will be the last one ???? #abscbnballsharethelove #abscbnball2018

A post shared by ISABELA VINZON (@lalavinzon) on

 

 

Shaina Magdayao in Michael Leyva

 

 

Angelica Panganiban in Michael Leyva

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

ANGELICA PANGANIBAN #ABSCBNBall2018 #ABSCBNBallShareTheLove Dress: Michael Leyva @michaelleyva_ Shoes: Nicholas Kirkwood @loveluxebags Jewelry: Royal Gem @royalgemph Minaudière: Mana @mana.ph Makeup: Jernest Carpio @jernestcarpio Hair: Raven Dizon @ravendizon Styling: Myrrh Lao To @myrrhlaoto, Carvey Samonte @carvey_sam, Jan Raroque @janra_ and Zia Dela Rosa @ziadelarosa of #MESMYRRHIZED #TeamMESMYRRHIZED Assisted by: Arbie Ubaldo @wannabearbie, Kylie Griego @oohkylie, Bryan Peralta @bperalta13, Tala Dela Rosa @taladelarosa and Mack Bersalona @mc.king.tosh - Special thanks to: Photographers: Miguel Alomajan @migotilyomanila & Kenneth Tangonan @kennethtangonan Video: #FOLDEOGRAPHY Fold Canela @thekabog , Eldzs Mejia @eldzsmejia, Dale Basilion @alendalebasilio Set Design: Rabbithole Creatives @rabbitholecreatives @aramloe @darryldarryldarryldarryl Zeny Manguiran @starmagic_zenymanguiran, Ms. Cris Taopang @cristapang10 @starmagicphils #ANGELICAPANGANIBAN

A post shared by MYRRH LAO TO | STYLIST (@myrrhlaoto) on

 

Photographs by Magic Liwanag